Ava near the Memorial Building. The block glass embedded in the sidewalk here is actually a skylight for the tunnel below, which connects the Memorial Building to the steam and supply systems of the hospital.
Looking at the casting floor from the roof. In the distance are the copulas where molten metal was poured.
A caustic tank in one of the unremodeled brewhouse backrooms.
Many outdoor areas of the plant have become unofficial city dumps. The skeleton doesn’t care.
The Tilston School,built in the late 1960s. In front of it is a memorial and model to the first schoolhouse. This building, however, has been turned into a kind of town dump. The classrooms are filled with mattresses and discarded tires and trash.
One thing that made the Eagle Mine unique is the underground mill, left of this picture. As the rocks moved down the mill, they would be turned into finer and finer powder.
There are 700 of these storage bunkers. Their design was to funnel explosions upward, rather than toward other buildings, to minimize secondary explosions.
Little has changed inside the mill, but since it was built in 1916, many tanks and ancillary buildings have popped up around it.
These rails used to connect to those inside the Santiago Tunnel. Now they dangle above tailings.
A wide view of the poor house. Look at the smokestack and elevator shaft, which show the former roofline.